.

DiMaria Won With Good Political Work, Strategy

The Caucus party campaigned hard on his behalf; it will be interesting to see what happens next. A Letter to the Editor by Patrick Kansoer Sr.

 

The following Letter to the Editor states the opinions of the author. Patch is serving as a platform for writers to express their views. 

I had a phone call today from a friend in town who was so angry that she was almost apoplectic. She said; " (Joe) Brunner, (Bill) Zimmer, (Rick) Krier and (Rita) Minx were crowing about how THEY had managed to get Danny DiMaria elected as the Action Party mayoral nominee last Tuesday."

My response to her was; "What's the problem? If they are saying it, it is because it is the truth." "But they are the CAUCUS party," she fumed.

I then proceeded to explain some political realities to her that might be useful to share.

  1. Politics has nothing to do with what's "right" and everything to do with who's left.
  2. The leadership of the CAUCUS party saw an opportunity to co-opt or cripple  the opposition party and they took it. That's just good political strategy. 
  3. The CAUCUS party folks worked their butts off circulating DiMaria's petitions and walked the precincts drumming up votes. That's good political work. 
  4. As the CAUCUS learned from the village elections in 2003, 2005 and 2009 it is easier to attack an incumbent from the outside than it is to sell an incumbent, especially if there is no great overriding issue to generate support for the incumbent. 
  5. As the CAUCUS learned in 2003 and 2005 it is better to have some nebulous "Happy Talk" phrases, (like "Hope and Change" or "Forward" or "Economic Development"), instead of specific plans, (which can be attacked), or accomplishments, (which can be denigrated or minimized). Slick phrases and slick words and a "likable" candidate win elections, (money doesn't hurt either).

Bottom line is Mr. Brunner, Mr. Zimmer, Mr. Krier and Ms. Minx and their allies turned out their voters while the "Old" Action party didn't turn out theirs. The numbers don't lie. They did the job and they won.

Mr. DiMaria may be the Action party nominee, ("He who permits himself to tell a lie once, finds it much easier to do it a second and a third time, till at length it becomes habitual..." --Thomas Jefferson (1785), but he  owes the CAUCUS party, big time. (as the kids say; 'they owned him'). It will be interesting to see when, (not if), he is elected mayor how he repays that big debt.

Patrick C. Kansoer Sr.

Morton Grove

Brad March 03, 2013 at 12:55 AM
Oh give it a rest Rats. There are over 25,000 residents of MG and you think all decisions go through you? You are a blip on the radar and will now learn a few things about good government and leadership when DiMaria is elected mayor. Come up with tangible ideas and knock off the spineless blog threats.
Daniel Marconi March 03, 2013 at 01:35 AM
Yes; give it a rest Rodent; Your thoughts are so Opaque on this topic I'm surprised you graduated.... As Brad suggests; come up with ideas or knock the crap off.
Pat Craig March 03, 2013 at 02:10 AM
The ideas I'd like to see is what payback DiMaria will arrange for his CAUCUS mentors.
Daniel Marconi March 03, 2013 at 05:20 PM
You know I can respect people like Mr. Craig and Mr. Kansoer openly share their thoughts and opinions and hopefully future positive thoughts on how to move our community forward. What i don't appreciate is you calling Trustee Toth a 'chick'; misspelling Gomberg; a.k.a. Gomeberg and your utter lack of disrespect for the "elected official" as you've stated in previous posts. What I can say is I and others will be 'watching you' too; so your bluffs of "Bloomberg" type powers while impressive should be put to use to move our community forward and if you continue to threaten the future; well.... be prepared my man.....
Daniel Marconi March 03, 2013 at 06:36 PM
You truly don't remember calling Trustee Toth a "chick candidate"; wow are you on drugs or something? Wow; your ability to alienate all parties in Morton Grove plus our state dignetaries speaks volumes. I can't wait for this....
Daniel Marconi March 04, 2013 at 03:27 AM
Mr. Rodent; here is your previous quote "They all suck. I think it's time for a chick mayor. Maria, Maria, Mariaaaaa! Toth you interested?" And yes you must be on drugs.... Wow; this is going to be like shooting fish in a barrel...
Next Generation March 04, 2013 at 03:09 PM
Patrick Kansoer and Pat Craig are the same person.
Pat Craig March 04, 2013 at 03:27 PM
@Next Generation- That is absolutely correct. I used the name Pat Craig when I was doing MGTV, (not an uncommon practice in broadcasting). However, I have also always had my picture with my postings and used my full name since I stopped doing MGTV. No nefarious stuff here, just truth and transparency.
Next Generation March 04, 2013 at 03:33 PM
Mr. Kansoer: After weeks of writing pieces in the Patch against DiMaria and using historical quotes that don't remotely reflect the situations, not getting a last word in after your loss would be akin to having your tail between your legs. However, doing os by minimizing DiMaria's platform and chalking up his win to good campaigning is not fair. Yes he had Caucus party supporters, so what? He also had independents, business owners, and people from all faiths behind him. Thats what a true leader can do. People that actually took the time to hear his ideas and figure out which candidate most closely aligned with their own views came out to vote. Many younger families that don't normally vote in municipal elections did so last Tuesday because his message resonated with them. The numbers don't lie. DiMaria's victory can't be due to some Caucus party members. You may reach some residents with your fictitious scenarios of what DiMaria did and who he owes, but not informed residents. There are a lot of us and we voted. Maybe the negativity on Patch and elsewhere turned people off. Maybe you're to blame? Either way, it's time this village realizes we are all (or should be) on the same team and act accordingly.
Next Generation March 04, 2013 at 03:39 PM
Because only Action party members should be paid back? It's time this one party town becomes inclusive of every faith, race, and idea.
Pat Craig March 04, 2013 at 04:12 PM
@ Next Generation- Spin it anyway you want to, the CAUCUS party was the backbione of the DiMaria ACTION party campaign from the beginning. The fact is, it is easier to win in a primary election than in a general, especially when the opposition party is working to split their competition. (kind of like the Obama campaign helping to run opposition in the Republican primary). It was a valid political strategy for the CAUCUS and it worked. In our political universe there is something called the "spoils system", (to the victor go the spoils). It is what it is. The CAUCUS did the job for DiMaria, (and ON Morton Grove, in my opinion), and they expect payback. My question as to exactly what that will be is a valid one. My statements stand as articulated. As far as being on the same team, the DiMaria campaign through the CAUCUS operatives created the divisive factor, and while it is a long-shot, there is still a general election in April, so I believe that there are some who would disagree, (Mr. Gomberg, for one), that it is time to unite behind one slate.
Pat Craig March 04, 2013 at 05:10 PM
@Next Generation, The only valid "payback" is good government. Not special favors or appointments or other emolluments whether Action; Caucus or any other party. Any who got involved for being "paid back" did it for the wrong reasons. I would hope that Morton Grove is not trying to duplicate Tammany Hall

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something